Skip Main Navigation

Advising

An academic advisor will be assigned to all students after their acceptance into Otero College, ensuring that students make informed decisions about their academic goals and career aspirations.

Your Advisor will help with:

  • Discovering the degree or certificate program that aligns with your goals
  • Creating an academic plan that selects the right courses for your program
  • Connecting you with resources on campus to ensure your success as a student
  • Explaining and demystify the registration process
  • Finding the right transfer options for continuing education

Who is my Advisor?

To find out which advisor has been assigned to you, access your Student Portal and login to Navigate. It is important to meet with an advisor before registering for classes. If you have not scheduled a time to meet, make an appointment in Navigate today.

Schedule An Advising Appointment


How do I use Navigate as a student?


Transfer from Otero

Our advisors can help you find the college that is right for you to transfer to for completing your bachelor's degree. Otero College has agreements with a number of Colorado universities as well as out-of-state universities. Find out more by visiting our Transfer Agreements page. 

Credit for Prior Learning (CPL)

At Otero College we realize significant learning happens outside of the formal classroom setting and often in the workplace or through your interest in independently learning about a subject. Through the Prior Learning Assessment Credit process, you can have your learning evaluated regardless of where, when, or how you acquired it as long as you can document your learning and it can be verified at a college level.

Military Training Credit

Students who have military training and experience can earn credit based on the American Council on Education (ACE) recommendations on their Joint Services Transcript. For further information please see: ACE Online Military Guide


Meet our Advising Team

International Students

Maureen

Maureen Rikhof

Director of International Programs
Phone: (719) 384-6805
Email: maureen.rikhof@ojc.edu
Office: Humanities Center 106

Student Athletes

Lisa Pantoya-Smith

Lisa Pantoya-Smith

Admissions and Transfer Coordinator
Phone: (719) 384-6931
Email: lisa.pantoya-smith@ojc.edu
Office: Student Services Center

TRiO Students

Alexa Cihura

Alexa Cihura

TRiO Career/Financial Coach
Phone: (719) 384-6944
Email: alexa.cihura@ojc.edu
Office: Learning Commons 102

Malorie Weiss

Malorie Weiss

Trio Academic/Transfer Advisor
Phone: (719) 384-6815
Email: malorie.weiss@ojc.edu
Office: Learning Commons 104


Career & Technical Programs

Cosmetology

Monica Valdez

Monica Valdez

Faculty - Cosmetology
Phone: (719) 384-6992
Email: monica.valdez@ojc.edu
Office: McDivitt Hall 101

Welding

Ryan Phillips

Ryan Phillips

Faculty - Welding
Phone: (719) 384-6814
Email: ryan.phillips@ojc.edu
Office: McDivitt Hall 114

Law enforcement training academy

Vincent Fraker

Vincent Fraker

Law Enforcement Training Academy Director
Phone: (719) 384-6867
Email: vincent.fraker@ojc.edu
Office: McBride Hall 129

Education

Hailey Wold

Hailey Wold

Learning Commons &
Student Engagement Coordinator
Phone: (719) 384-6946
Email: hailey.wold@ojc.edu
Office: Learning Commons 128A

Nursing

Amanda Clerkin

Amanda Clerkin

Director of Nursing & Health Professions
Phone: (719) 384-6897
Email: amanda.clerkin@ojc.edu
Office: Life Science Building 131

Medical Lab Tech

Angela Tarrant

Angela Tarrant

Director of Medical Lab Tech
Phone: (719) 384-6813
Email: angela.tarrant@ojc.edu
Office: Life Science Building 122

EMT

Amanda Clerkin

Rachelle Martin

Coordinator of Nursing & Health Professions
Phone: (719) 384-6898
Email: rachelle.martin@ojc.edu
Office: Life Science Building 133

Ag program

Brooke Matthew

Brooke Matthew

Faculty/Department Chair Agricultural Science
Phone: (719) 384-6964
Email: brooke.matthew@ojc.edu
Office: Ag Science Building 108

Agriculture Business Management

Ryan Belew

Ryan Belew

Agricultural Business Faculty
Phone: (719) 384-6964
Email: ryan.belew@ojc.edu
Office: SCORE Center 136

Becky Sporrer

Becky Sporrer

Agricultural Business Faculty
Phone: (719) 384-6964
Email: becky.sporrer@ojc.edu
Office: SCORE Center 136

Walter Myers

Walter Myers

Agricultural Business Faculty
Phone: (719) 384-6964
Email: walter.myers@ojc.edu
Office: SCORE Center 136


Students Seeking AA, AS, or AGS Degrees That Do Not Fall Under the Above Categories

Hailey Wold

Hailey Wold

Learning Commons &
Student Engagement Coordinator
Phone: (719) 384-6946
Email: hailey.wold@ojc.edu
Office: Learning Commons 128A

Sherry Johnson

Sherry Johnson

Learning Support & Library Specialist
Phone: (719) 384-6951
Email: sherry.johnson@ojc.edu
Office: Learning Commons 116

©